The Beginning – 20% Project Week 1

Hello, my name is Neera and for my 20% project I am doing painting. This week, my goal was to finish the sketch for the first of three paintings I will have completed in six weeks. I was happily surprised when I actually finished all three of my sketches! They weren’t all that detailed and might not have been exceptional, but I will use what I have as an outline for my work in the future. I was also able to start painting as well. I mixed my paint color and started one of my pieces. I am proud of what I’ve done this week and this should hopefully set me on a good pace for the next five weeks! Although things started out well, I have also had some struggles. First of all, I am using a cheaper brand of paint that is lower quality, which was nice because I was able to purchase plenty of colors. However, it is really thin, which means it requires a lot of layers. It turned out quite streaky, but it still looks pretty good for my first coat. Also, with the short amount of time I have to do my project each week, it is hard to get my paint to be able to dry in time. Still, things are looking good and I hope things will keep at a steady pace. To try to fix some of my problems, I will have to make some adjustments. I was recommended to use a hair dryer to help the paint dry faster by Ms.Moffat. I will see if my mom will let me bring one to school, and if she doesn’t that’s okay too. One of my friends, Aubrey, who is an amazing painter, told me that when my paint gets splotchy, I need to let my first coat fully dry so that I can keep on building up the color with my next coats. This makes having a hair dryer even more handy, so lets hope I can bring it school for week two! So far, I have learned that painting is a tedious process that involves a lot of patience, and I am enjoying this process so far! Next week, I will hopefully finish painting my first piece, so that I can keep up to schedule! I’m happy I chose painting for my project. Thanks for reading and see you next week!

One thought on “The Beginning – 20% Project Week 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *